advertising | contact

Curacao information -

Government and Politics

Curaçao is part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which is formed by the Netherlands, The Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The island government of Curaçao consists of three bodies, namely a Governor, an executive council (21 members), and an island council. The island council is representative body of the island territory and is elected every four years.The local government on the island takes care of the infrastructure. Defense and foreign affairs fall under the responsibility of the Dutch Government. All areas of interest that do not form part of island territories' responsibility are dealt with on the national level of the Netherlands Antilles. Following referendum on all five islands of the Netherlands Antilles, changes are to be made and the islands Curacao and St. Maarten will have a so called 'status aparte', which means both Curacao and St. Maarten will be a country. The smaller islands - Bonaire, Saba and St Eustatius - have opted for closer ties with the Netherlands.

These changes are due to be executed by the middle of next year.



Letter from minister Nicolaï to the Dutch parliament (in Dutch)

Curaçao government

Netherlands Antilles government

Governor of the Netherlands Antilles


Junior Minister of Fiscal Affairs Alex Rosaria

Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands Antilles



The Antillenhuis publishes a two-monthly newsletter which you can read here